• The official language of Portugal is Portuguese (Português). Portugal has the highest level of linguistic uniformity in Western Europe, given that Portuguese is spoken throughout the whole country.
  • Portuguese co-exists with a minority language only spoken in the northeastern region of the country – the Mirandese (Mirandês).
  • Portuguese is the fourth most spoken language in the World.
  • Portuguese is the official language of Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal and São Tomé and Principe. It is also one of the official languages in East Timor, Equatorial Guinea and Macau. Besides, it is also spoken by small communities that in the past were part of the Portuguese Empire in Asia and East Africa and are considered places where the Portuguese left a rich historical and cultural heritage on the local people.
  • The New Orthographic Agreement of the Portuguese Language, dated 1990, is an international treaty whose purpose is to create a unified orthography for the Portuguese language, to be used by all the countries that have Portuguese as their official language.
  • Portuguese has a Latin-based alphabet consisting of 26 letters. However, some words are Arabic in origin.